WSOP Tournament of Champions

Fans have spoken and they want Phil Ivey most of all. The 2010 World Series of Poker Tournament of Champions roster was released Wednesday and Ivey’s name sits at the top.

The TOC is a bit like an all-star game in sports. Fans vote from an identified field of players for those they would most like to see play against each other. In this case, they could vote in 20 players out of a field of 512 World Series of Poker bracelet holders. The tournament will begin June 25 at the Rio Casino, which is hosting this year’s WSOP.

Ivey brought in the most votes, with 16,267. Second was Daniel Negreanu, who received 16,239 votes. The rest of the top 10 includes Doyle Brunson, Phil Hellmuth, Chris Ferguson, Allen Cunningham, Johnny Chan, Barry Greenstein, John Juanda and Scotty Nguyen.

The final 10 players voted into the tournament include Sam Farha, Howard Lederer, Joe Hachem, Grey Raymer, Antonio Esfandiari, T.J. Cloutier, Erik Seidel, Jennifer Harman, Huck Seed and Dan Harington.

“The selections show that poker has a mass fan base that is knowledgeable about the history of the World Series of Poker,” Ty Steward, World Series of Poker vice president, said.

Fans vote for 20 players, but others are added to the roster automatically. They include past TOC winners Mike Matusow, Mike Sexton and Annie Duke. Joe Cada, winner of last year’s WSOP Main Event and Barry Shulman, winner of Main Event Europe, also got automatic bids.

The TOC winner will receive $500,000. The second place winner will take $250,000, and the third place winner, $100,000. Players who rank fourth through ninth will each get $25,000.